PDA

View Full Version : New owner ? about batteries

River Duck
12-14-2018, 04:47 AM
I’m sure this has been discussed many times but I’m a newbie so bear with me.

I have 30 amp shore power where our fifth wheel is stored for the winter. I’m wanting to plug in 3 of the rodent repellers for added protection.

If I leave it plugged into shore power will I overcharge the battery? Will throwing the battery disconnect switch prevent that? Or should I leave the negative post unhooked on the battery?

Just looking for the best option as I’m new to owning a RV. Thanks for any replies

Harleydodge
12-14-2018, 05:22 AM
If you leave your unit connected to shore power, your battery charge will be "maintained" as needed by the onboard charge controller. This will not overcharge your batteries.

If you ever store your rig for an extended period WITHOUT plugging in to shore power, it would be advisable to remove the battery (s) from the rig and keep them connected to a baterry tender of some sort.
Do not simply rely on the "battery disconect" switch, as it does not always fully disconnect all 12v power draws.

flybouy
12-14-2018, 06:31 AM
If you leave it plugged in don't walk away and come back months later. You should check water levels in the battery cells periodically and add only distilled water if the level drops.

travelin texans
12-14-2018, 06:50 AM
If plugged in leave the disconnect "on" or it won't charge the batteries.

ChuckS
12-14-2018, 08:01 AM
Most fifth wheels that are newer models since about 2011 or maybe earlier have a WFCO converter that supplies DC for the entire RV DC needs..Additionally the converter has 3 modes of charging to keep and maintain your batteries...

Here is a link with short description on how converters work.. I’ve left my 2014 plugged in since bought new year round when not using t9 shore power..