PDA

View Full Version : Best 5th Wheel Hitch Brand

White Water
07-20-2018, 03:07 PM
Getting a 2016 -18 Chevy 3500 soon . What brand hitch do y’all recommend? My 5er is 13400 lbs. dry.

Pull Toy
07-20-2018, 03:20 PM
I liked my HUSKY16K, for 15 years, it never let me down. I now have a REESE 16K slider in my F350 shorty. I loved the HUSKY over the Reese, but it's new to me... I'm still learning the procedure... still a substantial hitch, just different that what I'm used to.

If you go with a short bed, make sure to get a slider. Haven't need it yet, with the chamfered nose on my Alpine, but the option is cheaper than the damage! $$$

Good Luck,

White Water
07-20-2018, 03:48 PM
Long bed for sure

Frank G
07-20-2018, 05:24 PM
Short bed's are better

travelin texans
07-20-2018, 07:24 PM
B&W turnover w/ 5th wheel Companion hitch!!

Signguy71
07-20-2018, 07:27 PM
I have had a Pull Rite and a B&W, the B&W wins hands down. I have recommended it to friends and they agree.

travelin texans
07-20-2018, 08:46 PM
Had a Husky 16k prior to the B&W & if you weren't lined up near perfect or nearly level side to side it was a royal PITA to hitch/unhitch, wouldn't buy another one. Have a friend with the Reese & same issue.

Frank G
07-21-2018, 04:25 AM
I made a stupid post last night in response to a similar unrelated subject, considering the OP's request for hitch information. The post was stupid in that it provided no information as to why a short or long bed. The same holds true for the hitch question, especially if you have used 2 or more, a comparison would be great. Why is one better than another. To add to the discussion, I am towing with a entry lever Curt slider hitch. It is what it is, a little too much pin movement but it is reliable. Do I wish I purchased more hitch, Yes. Is price and weight a consideration, Yes. If we ever get another TV I will consider the "Goose Box" configuration. A single, removeable ball in the bed is very attractive to me.