PDA

View Full Version : Surge protector

Travler
06-25-2018, 01:41 PM
Ok I am not a electrician. So this is why I am asking. A lot of treads have been saying that my 5th wheel should be hooked to a expensive surge protector. My question is why. The camp grounds that I have been to all have a breaker in their box that I hook my shore line to and I also have a main breaker in my 5th wheel. So I see that I am double protected. How am I wrong. Please explain . That is what the breakers do is protect the wiring.

Thanks to all who respond. Just trying to figure this out.

Frank G
06-25-2018, 01:57 PM
You will get a lot of answers and explanations here, some from well educated sources and some not so qualified. Might I suggest you do some research on line from reliable sources such as the manufactures of the devices and pay attention to the features of the devices they manufacture. Progressive Industries is a good start. Short answer to your question, the park pedestal and the circuit breakers in your unit give very limited protection mostly over current protection.

Harleydodge
06-25-2018, 02:06 PM
Breakers WILL NOT protect you from a power surge. They are there to protect you from something WITHIN your RV from drawing too much amperage and causing a fire or other damage.
A power surge from an outside source is an "over voltage" situation, as opposed to Amperage, and can result in major damage to anything connected to it.
A surge protector will (help) guard against this and that is why it is recommended.
A complete EMS, or electrical management system will do that, as well as tell you if the power supply you are connected to is properly wired and grounded and if the supplied voltage is within proper specification. All things that a common circuit breaker cannot and will not do.
Hope that helps.