PDA

View Full Version : Towing Question

jmlocklin
12-07-2017, 11:00 AM
I am new to towing and I am pulling my new trailer, 29BH, with a 2016 F-150 V-8. The truck seems to pull just fine. No problem with weight that I am aware of. I suppose it is normal to feel drafts caused by other vehicles on the interstate. My question, is my trailer really swaying or do I just feel the sway bar doing what it is suppose to do? Would a F-250 solve the problem or would I still feel it? I do not drive over 65 when pulling the trailer and am passed by everything on the road. Is this a real problem or just something I have to get use to?

mfifield01
12-07-2017, 11:04 AM
What type of WDH setup do you have? Having the right WDH and getting it setup on a CAT scale will help a lot.

With a half ton truck you will feel wind, drafts, and semis. What were the wind speeds? If the wind speed is 30+ it will start to wear on you.

Canonman
12-07-2017, 11:12 AM
A 30ft plus travel trailer provides a lot of "sail area" behind your truck. That is what's catching the bow wave from passing vehicles especially oncoming semi-trucks.
You don't mention if you have or purchased a weight distribution (WDH) hitch with anti sway. But if you didn't, GET ONE. Makes all the difference in the world when towing.
I'd recommend having it professionally installed and include some hands on training on how to set it up for your specific trailer and load.
If you have it now, check that you have it properly set up. There is nothing more nerve wracking than that "tail wagging the dog feeling" you're experiencing.

sourdough
12-07-2017, 01:49 PM