PDA

View Full Version : Worth switching to AGM?

Freeheel4life
11-25-2017, 10:22 PM
Wondering if anyone is running AGM batteries instead of lead acids??
Seems like there could be and argument for longevity, and ability to bounce back from a deep cycle. Wondering at which point upped cost finally pays itself off. I work as a Marine Mechanic and we sell Interstate so can save myself a few bucks purchasing through my shop. Haven't installed a master switch or solar yet but those are at the top of the list.
Hoping someone can chime in that has had then installed for an extended period and how they are holding up.

scottz
11-26-2017, 09:42 AM
I have AGM's on my new Montana (it only came with one battery so I had to buy new ones; have 3) and had them on my previous unit. On the previous unit they were 8 years old and still going strong.

I don't know if I would get crazy and toss good batteries just to get AGM's; wait until they need to be replaced then upgrade to AGM's.

Good thing about AGM's is very little gassing.

Freeheel4life
11-26-2017, 10:40 AM
The dealer we bought from put in two group 24 Centennials and they are garbage IMO. One holds a charge just fine but the other doesn t seem to want to hold a charge even with ground leads disconnected on both batteries.
Previous owner had a nice metal battery box with a hinged lid and a latch to put on a lock. The group 24s have lots of extra space so wondering if I can get two group 27s in there.
Our camper sits in covered storage so hate showing up to find problems ( have showed up and batteries are magically dead and have a power jack). Now I just bring my Honda along with me when I go to get it.
Goal is to get dialed in and not even have to think about simple systems like 12v issues.

chuckster57
11-26-2017, 11:40 AM