PDA

View Full Version : Complete Noob Question about Battery Charging

jeremyers1
08-06-2017, 10:23 PM
We have a Keystone Outback 21RS. I am trying to charge the batteries, but no matter how long I leave the camper plugged in, the batteries just seem to lose charge.

So here is the noob question: Do I have to switch on the "Main" and the "Rec/Con" switches on the electrical panel for the trailer to actually charge the batteries? Or should the batteries automatically charge if the trailer is plugged in (even if the all the breakers are switched Off)?

xrated
08-06-2017, 11:53 PM
First order of business............Welcome to the forum. When parked or not in use, there really isn't any reason to turn any of your breakers off (that's the 120 Volt stuff anyway) and usually, there is a "Battery Disconnect" switch on the trailer that must be in the on position in order for the batteries to charge. If it is turned off, your batteries will never charge, as it disconnect them from receiving power from the charger part of the converter. Hope this helps.

the sodfather
08-07-2017, 03:42 AM
WeedseesZuxddxeV

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

This forum is going to hell in a hand basket...:facepalm:

xrated
08-07-2017, 04:04 AM
WeedseesZuxddxeV

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

This post needs to come with English sub-titles.

jeremyers1
08-07-2017, 08:19 AM
When parked or not in use, there really isn't any reason to turn any of your breakers off (that's the 120 Volt stuff anyway) and usually, there is a "Battery Disconnect" switch on the trailer that must be in the on position in order for the batteries to charge. If it is turned off, your batteries will never charge, as it disconnect them from receiving power from the charger part of the converter.

I cannot find a battery disconnect switch. But regardless, are you saying "Yes" the Rec/Con switch needs to be "on" for the batteries to charge when plugged in to shore power, so that if it is "off" they won't charge at all?