PDA

View Full Version : Water Heater (elec/gas)

Bixby101
05-22-2017, 01:20 PM
Just bought a used '15 Passport 2400 with elec and propane water heater. (my old trailer was propane only)
1. When I switch on elec, I can hear a fairly high pitch noise in the heater..Is this normal?
2. can you use propane and elec at the same time to heat water faster?
Thanks............

chuckster57
05-22-2017, 01:31 PM
1) yes it is, I don't have the technical reason for it.

2) by all means, if hookups are available, use both sources for faster recovery.

sourdough
05-22-2017, 01:37 PM
Be sure you have water in it:) I'm sure you do but if you've not had electric before it's important that you don't run the electric heating element without water in it.

Bixby101
05-22-2017, 02:25 PM
Lol, yes there is water. I'm new to this trailer and electric heater, but definitely not new to camping. Thanks for the reminder. It's just my old one was propane only.
I appreciate the fast responses.

hdrolling
05-22-2017, 04:26 PM
Ours has a switch to change from elec to gas, we can't run both.

I had to learn the hard way about all the switches that need to be turned off for the electric water heater when you winterize, we have a fuse in the control panel that needs to be off and a switch outside next to the heating element. Didn't know about the outside one, easy enough to get a new element (about $40) and install is quick and easy.

But being at your first camping trip of the year after de-winterizing with no hot electric water was a pain. Mostly because we didn't know it wasn't working so after a long day of sightseeing we came back and no hot water. We just hit the gas and let it heat over night but now we know.

chuckster57
05-22-2017, 04:38 PM
What brand of water heater? Haven't seen a single one that makes you choose one or the other. Seen lots with the electric switch outside AND inside. Outside switch enables element and inside switch powers it.

Bixby101
05-23-2017, 03:45 AM