PDA

View Full Version : Engine Braking

linux3
04-24-2017, 11:07 AM
Maybe this isn't the place for this question but...
As you can see I have a 2017 Silverado 1500m Z71. Factory tow package.
I have read the manual about using engine braking when towing. I've read it 4 times and am still scratching my head. I'm a retired engineer and maybe I've been away too long but I just don't understand.

Someone who uses this feature, could you explain?

sourdough
04-24-2017, 11:37 AM
Is the manual referencing the gas or diesel engine??

rhagfo
04-24-2017, 12:09 PM
Is the manual referencing the gas or diesel engine??

OP stated 1500 must be Gas

sourdough
04-24-2017, 12:21 PM
OP stated 1500 must be Gas

Yes, it would be gas and that's why I asked the question. He said he was reading he manual about engine braking but nothing about engine braking with a gas engine. Didn't know if his manual contained gas only info or for gas and diesel.

hankpage
04-24-2017, 01:15 PM
I would imagine the difference is engine braking with a gas engine (down shifting) and exhaust braking with a diesel engine equipped with an exhaust brake. JM2¢, Hank

Pull Toy
04-24-2017, 01:27 PM
These days it seems that "One size fits all" manuals are common. They're cheaper to produce, but can be confusing, and sometimes have conflicting info.

To the best of my knowledge, the "automatic" engine braking occurs only in diesel engines equipped with "Tow Mode". Kind of like the old "Jake Brakes" on the big rigs. The back pressure of the engine at idle transfers to the drive train causing a braking action when the brakes are tapped. The engine downshifts and causes engine drag.

It won't stop you, but it will slow you down, and takes a bit of the load off of the brake system.

Good Luck!

Tbos
04-24-2017, 02:29 PM