PDA

View Full Version : Blocks Underneath Front Stabilizers on Fifth Wheeler

Kojak
08-07-2015, 08:43 PM
I have a question regarding setting up your fifth wheel on a campsite that has a driveway that I have to back into at an upward angle. Now with my old travel trailer I was able to set blocks underneath the front jack. It did sit up pretty high but not to the point where I felt uncomfortable. Not sure at how much of an angle it is so please don't throw math questions at me.
Is it safe to throw a couple blocks underneath the two front stabilizers? Will I even be able to unhitch the fifth wheel if the truck and trailer are not positioned at the same angle? I am new to fifth wheelers so please be gentle.

Pull Toy
08-08-2015, 04:10 AM
There is no reason not to use blocks under your landing gear.

But first and foremost, if your parking on an inclined site, chock your trailer wheels. You then will want to jack up the front enough to disconnect your truck, and move it, prior to leveling the camper.

SteveC7010
08-08-2015, 04:37 AM
I have a question regarding setting up your fifth wheel on a campsite that has a driveway that I have to back into at an upward angle. Now with my old travel trailer I was able to set blocks underneath the front jack. It did sit up pretty high but not to the point where I felt uncomfortable. Not sure at how much of an angle it is so please don't throw math questions at me.
Is it safe to throw a couple blocks underneath the two front stabilizers? Will I even be able to unhitch the fifth wheel if the truck and trailer are not positioned at the same angle? I am new to fifth wheelers so please be gentle.
Those front stabilizers are called landing gear, and their function is different from stabilizers. Unlike stabilizers, they also perform the task of a nose jack as you understand it. It will prove helpful to distinguish between stabilizers and landing gear in these discussions.