PDA

View Full Version : Jacks up or down ?

Jdhd2004
03-13-2011, 08:02 PM
I am a newbie and was wondering whilemy rv is at my home
or storage for a period of time ( winter storage or in between trips ) is It better to put the 4 scissor jacks down or leave them up ? Will this help to prolong the tires ?

Maxzd
03-13-2011, 08:41 PM
I am a newbie and was wondering whilemy rv is at my home
or storage for a period of time ( winter storage or in between trips ) is It better to put the 4 scissor jacks down or leave them up ? Will this help to prolong the tires ?

There is not a practical benefit for having the scissor jacks down when your trailer is not in use. Scissor jacks are for stabilizing only, not for leveling or raising an RV. They are used to help reduce the motion when people are moving inside of an RV. They should never be used to lift the RV or level the RV, they can't handle that type of weight.

Here's a quick blurb on Tire storage when on an RV:

Storing Tires On the Vehicle

RV tires are mostly stored on the vehicle. For ideal storage, a vehicle should be placed on blocks so there is no weight on the tires. If this cannot be done, follow these tips for best tire protection:

1.Unload the vehicle to reduce weight on the tires to a minimum.
2.Wash the tires with soap and warm water; dry completely before storing and especially before covering the tires.
3.Ensure that tires are inflated to the recommended operating pressure. (Goodyear recommends going over by 25% provided this does not exceed the maximum.)
4.Check pressure every two or three months, and again before the vehicle is returned to service.
5.If the vehicle cannot be blocked up, store it on a surface that is firm, clean (no oil, grease, or moisture), well-drained and level.
6.Move the vehicle quarterly (except during very cold weather) to prevent flat-spotting (prolonged strain of sidewall and tread deflection) and ozone checking in the bulge area.