PDA

View Full Version : Lets be safe

greengiant
04-21-2015, 05:18 AM
Last week, there was a massive pile up in Wyoming, during a blizzard, that you may have heard about. Yesterday, on the same I-80, another pile up in fog. I'm no expert, but the likely culprit?- unsafe speeds and following distances for conditions. It may be that most of us the forum practice conservative driving, especially in fog/snow, etc, but these videos might help us remember what happens when we can't see enough road ahead of us to stop our TV and whatever we are towing. Hope everyone has a safe summer!

This is video of it happening, I cringed and almost cryed watching this, and wondered why this person wouldn't run or drive up the road a mile and start yelling at trucks to slow down:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IxlvxvG8zOE

This is video of the aftermath:
http://fox13now.com/2015/04/19/video-shows-devastation-from-massive-pileup-on-i-80-in-wyoming-that-injured-27-people/

C130
04-21-2015, 05:40 AM
Last week, there was a massive pile up in Wyoming, during a blizzard, that you may have heard about. Yesterday, on the same I-80, another pile up in fog. I'm no expert, but the likely culprit?- unsafe speeds and following distances for conditions. It may be that most of us the forum practice conservative driving, especially in fog/snow, etc, but these videos might help us remember what happens when we can't see enough road ahead of us to stop our TV and whatever we are towing. Hope everyone has a safe summer!

This is video of it happening, I cringed and almost cryed watching this, and wondered why this person wouldn't run or drive up the road a mile and start yelling at trucks to slow down:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IxlvxvG8zOE

This is video of the aftermath:
http://fox13now.com/2015/04/19/video-shows-devastation-from-massive-pileup-on-i-80-in-wyoming-that-injured-27-people/

Wow, that is crazy, also sad.

sourdough
04-21-2015, 08:16 AM