PDA

View Full Version : dual exhaust

yolo2rv
03-07-2015, 06:52 PM
what would I gain If I replaced the factory exhaust on a 2014 6.0L Silverado with dual exhaust? I'm not talking from the mufflers back, but from the exhaust manifolds. Would HP increase and by how much? Would fuel mileage increase and approx. by how much? Would it void the warranty? Would the cost of installing it be offset by the possible savings?

chuckster57
03-07-2015, 07:26 PM
I'm not an engineer, but having wrenched on auto's for the last 40+ years, I can say that the newer computer controlled gasoline engines are about as efficient and powerful as they can be with the factory exhaust/intake.

With that said, you will probably void the factory warranty if you modify/alter the exhaust system. Mileage/HP gains are better achieved with "programming" these days.

master sprinter
03-07-2015, 07:31 PM
Probably would not be a true dual exhaust as todays vehicles have a catalytic convertor and sometimes multiple oxygen sensors in the exhaust. These cannot be removed or is expensive to remove if possible at all. In Ontario you also have to pass emissions which would probably not be possible after conversion, as well as fighting ECM faults, poor milage due to tampering with it.

Some exhaust tweaking can be done, but chipping it would probably give more performance gain or combination of chipping, exhaust and intake mods.

Desert185
03-07-2015, 09:42 PM
Look into a Magnaflow cat back system. It is possible to realize some gains with a less restrictive muffler and mandrel bent pipe(s). The same can be said for a less restrictive cold air intake system. The dyno doesn't lie.

Whether the money spent will justify any performance or mileage gains is for you to decide.

Larry1013
03-08-2015, 02:29 AM
I would say you would cause more headaches and CEL's than mpg gained on the newer vehicles outside of warranty problems down the road.