PDA

View Full Version : Dealer Supplied WDH is it enough???

BlueThunder34
02-22-2015, 04:01 PM
We purchased a 2015 Springdale 240BHWE that has an empty weight of 5,660 carrying capacity of 2,030 and a dry hitch weight of 690lbs. The WDH that they fitted my truck (2014 RAM 1500) with is the E2 WDH with max. 8,000lbs weight and 800lbs. max tounge weight. Is this WDH enough for this trailer without being at risk of failure? Seems that empty tounge weight of 690 is going to climb pretty quickly once propane, batteries, water, cargo is added. I'm new to this so not sure if I'm being overly cautious or if they should have included a heavier duty WDH?

chuckster57
02-22-2015, 05:04 PM
Empty weight of 5660 and cargo capacity of 2030 equals 7690.

With a GVWR of 7690, that means the most your trailer can weigh is still under the max of the WDH, and the hitch should be 770 at most.
At our dealership, that close would have warranted a 1000/10000 WDH. You should be fine, but I would ask nicely and see what they say.

wahoonc
02-22-2015, 05:44 PM
I would say that the hitch will do the job, but it is close to the limits.

Better than my dealer did... They gave me an 800/8000 hitch for a trailer that grosses 4000#:rolleyes: I gave up fighting with them and ordered lighter bars for mine. Just to show you how ignorant they are: I picked up my trailer after some warranty work with my F350 DRW, CC, PSD. Truck weighs over 7,000# I just dropped it on the ball with just a friction sway control. The service writer was upset that I wasn't using the WDH.... REALLY? I have to wonder just how much experience these clowns really have.:confused:

Aaron:cool:

x96mnn
02-22-2015, 06:13 PM
I would say that the hitch will do the job, but it is close to the limits.