PDA

View Full Version : 2014 Dodge Ram 5.7 with 3.21 axle

Paul pg
02-08-2015, 08:11 PM
Hey, I'm very new to the rv world and I am looking at buying a 2015 hideout 28bhs we. Its slated as being 6500 lb dry.

The rv sales guy said my truck would pull it no problem, but I'm not so sure.

When I spoke to dodge about it they seemed to be a bit clueless and instantly said yes without really looking into it. When I said the sticker on the door only says 6900lb he said that dodge don't put the towing capacity on the door and that I woudnt even know it was there when towing.

Am I being over cautious or are the experts right, surely they can't be wrong?

Thanks in advance.

Paul

Ram 1500 4x4 5.7 v8 crew cab 6'4 box Laramie 3.21 axle

audio1der
02-08-2015, 10:38 PM
You will over weight as soon as you as propane, batteries and only the bare essentials.
The engine has tons of power but you neutered it with the 3.21 rear end. And you haven't even touched on payload, the RAM achilles, yet.

Pmedic4
02-09-2015, 08:55 AM
One of the nice things about the RAM trucks, is they have a good webpage which runs a calculator for providing your trucks towing capacity.

http://www.ramtrucks.com/en/towing_guide/

You can select your specific model and features, so it gives you the exact capacities of your truck. What is especially nice, is you can adjust the payload up or down, within the limits of your truck, to adjust your towing capacity. Note, that doesn't change the capacity of your truck, just where you put all that 'stuff'.

Personally, I don't think the other truck manufacturers have as good calculators, just a table showing the vehicle and some partial weight limits. Those charts still valid, just not as simple to see how your payload affects towing capacity.