PDA

View Full Version : forward and backwards movement while towing

archer75
01-26-2015, 04:00 PM
This is my first time towing anything. Picked up a Hideout 26.5' and tow it with my Nissan Titan.

I'm getting this weird feeling when towing like a water tank is half full and water is sloshing forward and backwards. I do have a Equal-i-zer hitch installed and I got it setup so that the height of the front and rear of my truck hasn't changed all that much when coupled. Just a touch lower.
I'm not getting any side to side sway at all. Just the sensation of moving forwards and backwards.

Any idea what that is? I talked to several people about this and all buy one said they don't know and the one who did experience said it was normal and he drives a Ram 2500.

BirchyBoy
01-26-2015, 04:24 PM
Does it happen all the time or when stopping? Maybe check to make sure your ball is the proper size and is tightened to the proper torque. Also check the two bolts large bolts that go through the ball carrier into the hitch.

archer75
01-26-2015, 04:41 PM
It's all the time. The hitch ball is the correct size. All bolts are as tight as I could get them. I had to borrow some pretty big wrenches to get it done.

NotyetMHCowner
01-26-2015, 05:04 PM
Is it sort of "bucking" when going over imperfections in the road? Or constantly back and forth movement ALL the time?

archer75
01-26-2015, 05:09 PM
It's there most of the time. Doesn't seem to be tied to the road conditions. And it doesn't seem to impact vehicle handling.

NotyetMHCowner
01-26-2015, 05:17 PM