PDA

View Full Version : Need Shocks

rolltide
09-09-2014, 04:15 PM
I have a 2003 Suburban Z71 4x4 which is pulling our 2003 25ft Keystone Cabana. It's time for shocks and was curious from you experienced folk as to which rear shocks to place on the Cabana hauler. Only take it out about 8 times a year with a average of 400 mile distance. Thank You for your expert opinion.

Festus2
09-09-2014, 04:42 PM
I've been towing one thing or another for "a few years" and have never had shocks on anything I've towed - TT and 5ers. Not having them hasn't resulted in any suspension or axle issues or any damage to things inside caused by a harsh ride.

In view of the short driving distance that you travel per trip, I wouldn't bother having them installed.

JRTJH
09-09-2014, 04:44 PM
Festus2,

Methinks Rolltide is looking for advice on which shocks to install on his Suburban, (The Cabana Hauler).

Festus2
09-09-2014, 05:44 PM
:o Whoops. Methinks you're right!

chuckster57
09-09-2014, 07:49 PM
I don't have any recommendation for rear shocks, but Festus2:

My '97 Jayco 323RKS had shocks on each axle. I can't say it really made a difference, still lost a dozen coffee mugs in upper New York highways. Only part of our trip that I had to stop because my cat got car sick.

Desert185
09-09-2014, 08:25 PM
I've used Rancho 9000's, or equivalent earlier versions, for years. They're adjustable and guaranteed for as long as you own the vehicle. I have Bilsteins on an El Camino with an aftermarket sport suspension, and they're hard to beat. My current tow vehicle has KYB gas shocks. They work so well I might do KYB again when needed.

Any of those brands would be a good choice. I generally stay away from Monroe, Gabriel and similar brands.

bchesley
09-10-2014, 05:59 AM