PDA

View Full Version : Has anyone been asked for a W9 for reimbursement?

bcbbmom
08-20-2014, 07:50 AM
This is insane. We've been trying to get reimbursed for warranty work that was done in May. Keystone sent our check to the wrong people, who cashed it, and now Keystone wants us to fill out a W9 before they send us our check. This company is aging me.

Harley76
08-20-2014, 08:15 AM
My guess would be they are going to write the first check off as a loss on their taxes and need the W9 as proof of who the second payment was made to.

Murphsmom
08-20-2014, 09:29 AM
And then you will get a 1099 and have to claim the reimbursement on your taxes! I would be doing some more phone work on this one. It smells fishy.

BulletOwner1
08-20-2014, 09:58 AM
First, I'm not a tax expert!! But wouldn't it be a refund? If you had to you could prove you had to pay out first in order to get the refund. There's no income here.

mazboy123
08-20-2014, 02:58 PM
is this keystone or the dealer?

what you are saying doesn't make sense. you need to get on the phone.:)

kellydog98
08-20-2014, 03:06 PM
I'm also not a tax expert but this certainly is not an income benefit which needs reported on your end. Without sounding argumentative, I have consulted attorney's who have simply written a letter, (usually one I have constructed), which spells out what you have done, what they did, what happened, and what needs to happen now. It's always amazed me how a letter from an attorney gets noticed quickly. More so than when I sent the same exact letter. (Without some of the wherefore's and party of the first part). Anyway, the letter was never out of anger, it was a tool to get the job done. Good Luck.

bcbbmom
08-22-2014, 11:12 AM
And then you will get a 1099 and have to claim the reimbursement on your taxes! I would be doing some more phone work on this one. It smells fishy.