PDA

View Full Version : Towing tactics for a newbie

Sandy Swede
06-27-2014, 12:16 PM
Hello all Towing Mavens,

Although I have towed over a few short (less than 2 miles) 5 & 6% grades in western MD & PA, I have no experience towing in the Rockies. We are currently headed to Columbia Falls, MT on I-90. If I have scoped out the route correctly, our first challenge will be Bozeman Pass at approx 5,700'. What really concerns me is the Homestake Pass downgrade into Butte. There may be other challenges on the Homestake, but I have no idea. In general, on a downgrade with a 4-speed auto trans, should I leave it in Drive at a speed of 30 - 35 mph and firmly brake when the speed increase to 40 - 45 mph, or should I manually shift into 2nd or 3rd? I do not have a tach. I am aware that you want to avoid riding the brakes at all cost. I read somewhere on this forum "letting the torque converter do its job" but I do not understand where that fits into the picture.

Any wisdom and/or experience you might share is sincerely appreciated.

DocRoxy
06-27-2014, 03:31 PM