PDA

View Full Version : An Open Letter To Keystone

Bob Landry
04-10-2014, 09:39 AM
I also sent this to their customer no-service department via the link on their website:

I recently completed the addition of a second 30A service to my 277RL, the purpose being to better balance the loads and get an even distribution of power utilizing a splitter on a 50A outlet. Since I'm a marine electrician and air conditioner service center, this was quite an easy project, only made difficult by two factors. One, the unorthodox method of randomly ganging appliances on a circuit breaker that shows no indication of everything that is attached to it. I found wall outlets serviced by circuit breakers that I would have never suspected or thought to look for.The other is the almost impossibility of separating the circuits that needed to be re-routed to the appropriate circuit breaker due to all of the connections and terminations being done in the ceiling.

I can certainly understand why one would not want all of the wall outlets to be fed by one common circuit breaker marked."Outlets" That practice would certainly reduce confusion for the knowledgeable DIYer as well as providing a margin of safety in the event of the need to kill power in a critical situation and in general, just make too much sense.
I do find it interesting that you refuse to release any electrical information or diagrams, citing a concern for customer safety, but you seem to be perfectly at ease in the doing electrical installations in a manner that is confusing to owners and creates possible hazardous conditions, however remote, by increasing the time it may take to shut off power to a device or outlet in an emergency situation.
As an enhancement to customer safety, you might consider labeling these "rogue" outlets as to which breaker actually controls them.