PDA

View Full Version : macerator pump recommendation?

Anson9110
03-28-2014, 12:39 PM
I'm a total newbie and currently purchasing everything I need for the upcoming spring. Could anyone please recommend a decent macerator pump? I've looked at some threads here but I'm surprised I'm not finding much. Also, while I'm asking....do I NEED to have a water hook-up while using a macerator or can I just rely on gravity, then rinse it out with a "toilet wand"? Thanks in advance for any help on the crappy issue. :rofl:

outwest
03-28-2014, 12:50 PM
I don't have much experience with macerator pumps, but can tell you this - if you use a garden hose on the output side of the pump, don't save the hose for next season - toss the hose in the bin. The hose will break down and when you go to do it again next year it will have holes throughout and act like a giant sprinkler, spewing gunk everywhere.

How I know? Father made that mistake once and he ended up "watering" the side of another camper's RV *oops!*

As for the water hookup - unless you want it for rinsing tank, etc., it's not needed. And, of course you might need it to wash the neighbor's RV *laf!*

Anson9110
03-28-2014, 12:55 PM
I would never have guessed that....wow! Thanks..

Anson9110
03-28-2014, 12:57 PM
Forgot to add..... I want to be able to push "it" through a garden hose about 100ft back... I have 13.3 amps available... (honda eu2000).

Festus2
03-28-2014, 12:59 PM
I'm not quite sure why you would need a macerator pump. You really don't need to macerate your toilet waste. When you "dump" or get rid of everything in your holding tanks, including toilet waste in your black tank, it flows out on its own - by gravity. There should be enough liquid in the tank to move it along and; with proper flushing and using your black tank flush system, all of the waste - including solids - move through and out of the RV sewer system.