PDA

View Full Version : Need more hot water!

izmu
03-07-2014, 03:42 PM
Hello all, this is my first time owning an rv and we have only used it for 3 weekends before the park closed for the season. I noticed that the hot water for the shower lasted about 2 minutes! I own a 2014 Keystone Hideout 280LHS. I hear that we can some how switch to electric instead of using propane. Would this help the hot water last longer? If so, how would I go about doing this? Electricity is included in our park fees, so I would also be saving on the cost of propane :)
We're very excited to open the trailer in May, but it would be even better to be able to use the shower rather than the public showers *~*
Thanks in advance for your tips and suggestions.

Sent from my SGH-I337M using Tapatalk

PARAPTOR
03-07-2014, 04:20 PM
For us military veterans that's a long time :(

There are a couple of threads out there you may want to read

http://www.keystonerv.org/forums/showthread.php?t=15926&highlight=water+heater

Also you can use the search function to find others search for "water heater" There at least two threads out there

These threads will explain the dual function water heater and how individuals use them as well as precautions.

izmu
03-07-2014, 05:52 PM
Thanks Paraptor! That was helpful. .. I guess I'll have to look for the switch on the interior. .. I know I don't have one on the exterior because we searched for it already. .. lol.

GaryWT
03-07-2014, 06:07 PM
Propane will work faster than electric but during shower time, both on will help. Many times the switches are on the same panel. 2 minutes is short, we generally get 5+ minutes depending how hot the water is. For longer time, shut water off while soaping. Next shower should wait 10-15 minutes. Good luck.

PARAPTOR
03-07-2014, 06:21 PM
Thanks Paraptor! That was helpful. .. I guess I'll have to look for the switch on the interior. .. I know I don't have one on the exterior because we searched for it already. .. lol.