PDA

View Full Version : how do I identify an "all-season" trailer ?

EdInKentucky
03-03-2014, 02:01 PM
Hi, I'm a newbie here, and have only recently realized that Keystone RV's are build a bit better than average.

I definitely need for my next RV to be an "all-season" unit, which can handle sub-freezing outdoor temperatures.

------------------------------------

QUESTION ... what names, phrases, other terms do I lookk for, when I'm looking for a used or new bumper-pull-behind travel trailer ?

I've seen that the names "Montana" and "Outback" seem to indicate they're "all-season", but I don't even know that for sure. :USA:

Thanks, glad to be here.

Steve S
03-03-2014, 03:58 PM
Polar package:D

Bluewater
03-03-2014, 04:01 PM
ALL of their "special" winter packages are a joke. None are made for below freezinf weather without special customizing.

mguay
03-03-2014, 04:05 PM
Welcome to the forum!

The only ALL SEASON unit made by Keystone will reside in the southern most states in winter and head north in summer.

Well Insulated is NOT part of their vocabulary.

BulletOwner1
03-03-2014, 05:20 PM
As indicated above, the "insulation" packages offered are woefully short of what peoples expectations are. Mostly they consist of a covered underbelly, usually with a material called Coroplast (plastic cardboard), tanks that are heated by 1 two inch heat duct that empties into the underbelly area in the vicinity of the tanks, and a larger capacity furnace. I have a Keystone Bullet and that is what my "Thermal Package" consists of.

If you want an RV with truly 4 season capability in an area north of the southern regions of the US then you would have to modify your Keystone product with added insulation in the underbelly, tank heaters (electric), and heated hose for the water supply and sewer line.

Truly 4 season units have these things and have thicker walls and ceilings, and probably double pane windows.