PDA

View Full Version : Adding Exterior Ladder?

Wally15
01-23-2014, 04:08 AM
Hi, Newbie here. Recently purchased a used '13 Laredo 308RE. Had some nice options (50 amps was a big plus) but doesn't have a ladder to access the roof. I'm thinking I need to add one since one of our prime camping areas will have lots of trees overhanging. What structural mods need to be done to add a ladder? Or is the TT already reinforced for the ladder and I just need to find out where to get one and where to install it.
Note: I searched the forum for answers before posting this question but I haven't quite gotten my "sea legs" yet on navigating the site. If the answer is already out there, someone please point me in the right direction.
Thanks in advance,

ctpd814
01-23-2014, 04:46 AM
First of all welcome to the forum:wlcm:

I believe that most have found that if your unit did not come with a ladder, that there is not adequate bracing to add one. Here is a thread and several members solutions to the problem.

http://www.keystonerv.org/forums/showthread.php?t=13529&highlight=ladder

Hope this helps and enjoy the new unit.

WaltBennett
01-23-2014, 05:16 AM
Not just rear wall bracing, but the roof may not be able to support your weight. Making things light means leaving a lot of that kind of stuff out.

Wally15
01-23-2014, 05:21 AM
First of all welcome to the forum:wlcm:

I believe that most have found that if your unit did not come with a ladder, that there is not adequate bracing to add one. Here is a thread and several members solutions to the problem.

http://www.keystonerv.org/forums/showthread.php?t=13529&highlight=ladder

Hope this helps and enjoy the new unit.
Thx for the link...and warm welcome

JRTJH
01-23-2014, 06:08 AM
Good Morning,

First of all, welcome to the forum and to Keystone RVing. Look around the forum and you'll find a wealth of information about almost any aspect of your fifth wheel, how to use, maintain, modify and enjoy it.