PDA

View Full Version : Mounting a Rear View Camera: RVS-770613-213 on a 327RES

Mosnowman
01-10-2014, 08:30 PM
I recently purchased the Rear View Camera System One (1) Camera Setup With Trailer Tow Quick Connect/Disconnect Kit Model # RVS-770613-213.

I have read various threads on cameras and was wondering if anyone can give me the pros and cons on mounting this hard wired camera system on my Cougar 327RES Fifth Wheel?

I personally see two possible options and would like your input.

1. My 2014 RES has 3 lights at the rear up by the top of the trailer. Would it be possible to remove the middle light and use that as a pre drilled site for the camera? If so where would the wires be run at that point?

2. Mount the camera on the top rung of the ladder and run the wire down the ladder either zip tied or through conduit. Then run the cable under the trailer?

I am a total Newb and not mechanically inclined. I am smart enough to figure stuff out listening to you wise old guys that have experience in doing these things. Any detailed advice on the wiring would be appreciated!

Thoughts?

http://www.keystoneforums.com/attachments/photobucket/img_107948_0_d3b9f69e159eb7d6117c4337663053f7.jpg (http://s1118.photobucket.com/user/Mosnowman/media/image_zps21d19644.jpg.html)

spicercars
01-11-2014, 05:33 AM
I have never installed a camera on an RV but I do know that you should not remove the center clearance light on the back. They are put there to pass the DOT laws because the trailer is wider than 84". Good luck on your install.

byrdr1
01-11-2014, 05:42 AM