PDA

View Full Version : New Owner Looking for Right TV

Pjburkett
08-11-2013, 04:33 PM
Hi, I am a new Keystone Cougar Xlite RV owner.. Just thought I would check out the site and review all the articles. I am actually looking to find out what has been the best tow vehicle for this kind of trailer. I took the cart before the horse. Any suggestions would be appreciated. Haven't been an owner for several years. Never had anything this big either. Its a 28 ft.

SlowPoke
08-11-2013, 04:56 PM
:wlcm:Hi Pjburkett!

I am in no way gonna try to answer any question that I haven't got the info to backup...lol But I will tell you from experience ; Make sure you pay attention to hitch, weight distribution, braking, and sway control.

Unless it's a 5'ver....Then render my recommendation useless ...:confused:

Woodsrider
08-11-2013, 05:51 PM
I'm new to this too. I aired on the side of caution and went overkill on the tow vehicle. I have a new Bullet 230BHS (27 ft OAL), and it only weighs in at just under 4500 dry. I bought a clean, low mileage 2003 2500HD Duramax and had the dealer set everything up with a 4 point sway control weight distributing hitch. The truck already had a prodigy 2 brake controller installed.
It's way more than I needed for this light of a trailer, but It sure feels good back there, and 18mpg towing is nice too.

KanTC
08-11-2013, 06:07 PM
Welcome to the forum Pjburkett, glad you joined us.:wlcm:
Please include your Xlite model number & year, so members can give specific feedback. ;)

Happy shopping!
Terri, the Chevy co-pilot :)

davidjsimons
08-12-2013, 02:42 AM
Hi, I am a new Keystone Cougar Xlite RV owner.. Just thought I would check out the site and review all the articles. I am actually looking to find out what has been the best tow vehicle for this kind of trailer. I took the cart before the horse. Any suggestions would be appreciated. Haven't been an owner for several years. Never had anything this big either. Its a 28 ft.