PDA

View Full Version : Is it possible that my Cougar 26' has no dump valve?

ace1966
08-03-2013, 10:02 AM
I am very new at travel trailers, but unless I'm blind I do not see a waste dump valve on my 1999 26' Keystone Cougar. IS THIS POSSIBLE. Or is it possible it got knocked off and a previous owner used PVC and no new valve.
THanks for all answers!:(

hankpage
08-03-2013, 10:19 AM
You should have at least two dump valves ... one gray water and one black water at least. Pull handles may not be near sewer connection.

ace1966
08-03-2013, 11:45 AM
Thank for your response. But I have looked at the Sewer outlet area and have looked in the storage areas to no avail. There is a small white line that has a cap on the end only. The waste tank has the normal black twist lock cap but no valve that i can see. The last 6" of the line is white 3" PVC is this normal?

Festus2
08-03-2013, 12:37 PM
ace1966 -

Since you have an older model Cougar, it is possible that you may have 3 tanks holding tanks - 2 gray and 1 black/waste tank - and 3 dump valves (one for each tank). The presence of white pipes tells me that the previous owner may have done something to the sanitation systems pipes. I've never seen anything but black PVC.

In most cases, the pipes that come from your the gray holding tanks are 1 1/2" while the main sewer/toilet dump is 3". The 1 1/2" pipes tie into the main 3" sewer outlet.

If you crawl underneath your unit, you may see or find pull handles for the tanks. Some of pulls may be "hidden" behind a wheel or the rod and handles may have come off the valve.

How many pull handles can you find? On our Cougar there are 3 - 1 for the galley, 1 for the bathroom sink/shower, and 1 for the toilet. All pipes are black, uncapped and they all lead into the 3" termination outlet.

ace1966
08-03-2013, 04:35 PM