PDA

View Full Version : Propane remaining?

Jerryb1973
07-13-2013, 05:44 PM
Newbie here: 5th wheel dual tank system---How can I determine the amount of propane I have left in the tanks? Surely I don't have to take them out and weigh them.

hankaye
07-13-2013, 05:51 PM
Jerryb1973, Howdy;

Welcome to the forum :wlcm:
Weighting them IS the most accurate method,
don't forget to correct for temperature. Subtract the
total (gross), from the tare weight (stamped on collar).

hankaye

theeyres
07-13-2013, 08:16 PM
I take the easy way out. I don't worry about it and just let the automatic changeover do it's job. I check every once in awhile and if it has changed over I take the empty tank for a fill-up. I know, roughly, how long a tank lasts depending on how much I'm using and that judges how often I check for an empty tank.

floatflyer
07-13-2013, 09:02 PM
Weighing the tank is the only accurate method. Propane liquifies at a fairly low pressure so the pressure gauges are not an accurate measurement tool. I think most of us have learned by experience about how long a tank lasts in given use situations and use that as a guide. For me, a tank is good for about three weeks in winter and double that in summer. Live and learn. But weighing the tank is the only accurate measurement.

KanTC
07-13-2013, 09:45 PM
There are inexpensive propane tank level 'indicators' that you can purchase, but we've never used one
so I can't offer first-hand experience on the accuracy. Might also be available at your local dealer.

http://www.campingworld.com/shopping/item/gli-gas-level-indicator/4317

http://www.pplmotorhomes.com/parts/lp-gas/propane-tank-level-sensor.htm

Terri, the Chevy co-pilot :)

T11ravis
07-14-2013, 05:57 AM