PDA

View Full Version : Thoughts on tow/haul mode

lightning79
07-03-2013, 04:53 PM
Hello friends,

I hope everyone is enjoying their camping season! I'm a teacher, and so I live in my trailer for the summer months, so far, it's been great!

So last year I didn't really try out the tow/haul mode on my 2008 Dodge Ram 2500 diesel, but today, I did. I also used it in the Rocky Mountains last week. I'd like some opinions!

I found that using the mode allows the engine to stay in its good RPMs much better, as without it, on hilly roads with a low speed limit, the RPMs would drop lower and seem to lug the engine. Tow/haul didn't do this at all.

I also found that it's much more effective with the exhaust brake on, as coming to stops meant much more aggressive exhaust braking. As I took my foot off the accelerator pedal, the transmission would shift, the RPMs would go up, and the exhaust brake would really slow down my combination. Was very helpful coming down the hill to the campground here just below Edmonton when someone decided to stop at the bottom of the hill.

I did, at first, find it a little unnerving when the RPMs would go way up and a rough shift would happen, but that seems to be the way it's supposed to be.

I also think I may have used a little more fuel with this mode engaged.

Overall, I think I like the mode. I"m not towing a big trailer, so it's probably not totally necessary, but still is a good idea.

I'd be interested in some opinions!

Kevin

mhs4771
07-03-2013, 05:12 PM
Not sure of Dodge Rams, but with GMs the Tow/Haul mode locks up the torque converter in the lower gears, resulting is less slippage thus less heat generated. Prior to moving up to a 5er we towed a smaller TT and yes, if it's light enough there isn't a lot of benifit, but it does make the exhaust brake much more effective. Now we use it all the time, but then again our unit is slightly over 17K and 40+ feet.

f6bits
07-03-2013, 05:45 PM