PDA

View Full Version : Electrical tingle

TAKAFOOMI
05-07-2013, 03:32 PM
Hi guys. I'm a newbie so I'm hoping you can point me in the right direction. We just bought a used 2006 Sprinter 299LH(I think). Today I was de-winterizing it... And noticed when I touched water and metal that I felt a light electrical tingle , like a 9V battery sensation.. Or in this case, 12 v. I figure it must be a grounding issue somewhere.. But I didn't see anything obviously disconnected. This happens whether I am connected to shore power or run with my battery (although I have to say my shore power was connected the whole time, but I also fully connected the battery + & - connections). The electrical panel does not show any issues...

Is this normal? I'm guessing 'no'. Help!

CPE
05-07-2013, 05:33 PM
Definitely NOT normal! I suspect AC ground problem. Totally-- disconnect AC power connector on trailer and see what happens(use a meter not your hand to feel!). Unlikely you are feeling 12volt ground issue. My guess is grounding issue with connector or shore power supply or inside trailer.

TAKAFOOMI
05-07-2013, 06:36 PM
Thanks CPE. The trailer itself was sitting in a wooded lot for years without moving. I'm hoping that it's an easily identifiable, easily accessible loose connection near the shore power connection. Any idea as to where I should physically look first?

I dont know where to look inside the trailer itself for an issue.. it was well kept/clean so I dont think anything went wonky there (I hope).

I'll also test my outdoor receptical for fun..

SteveC7010
05-07-2013, 06:49 PM
Thanks CPE. The trailer itself was sitting in a wooded lot for years without moving. I'm hoping that it's an easily identifiable, easily accessible loose connection near the shore power connection. Any idea as to where I should physically look first?

I dont know where to look inside the trailer itself for an issue.. it was well kept/clean so I dont think anything went wonky there (I hope).