PDA

View Full Version : Gas grills

davidjsimons
04-03-2013, 11:53 AM
I'm thinking about buying a six burner event grill and adapting it to fit my rear mount. I need a larger grill for the races. Is there any reason why I can not utilize my quick connect at the rear of my trailer for this project (Such as volume and pressure) ? I am not a gas expert.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

SteveC7010
04-03-2013, 12:17 PM
I'm thinking about buying a six burner event grill and adapting it to fit my rear mount. I need a larger grill for the races. Is there any reason why I can not utilize my quick connect at the rear of my trailer for this project (Such as volume and pressure) ? I am not a gas expert.

David, remember that there are low pressure LP systems and high pressure LP systems. Our RV's are all low pressure and the appliances are all designed around that. The regulators are right at the tanks so there is no high pressure available anywhere in the trailer.

I have a Coleman RoadTrip (low pressure unit) that I dearly love, but the regulator is a Coleman proprietary one and the connection to the grille is also proprietary. You can not daisy chain regulators in the same system or you get no pressure at all at the appliance. So I am stuck with carrying a separate tank at the moment. Still trying to decide if it's worth it to us to modify the grille to use the trailer's low pressure directly or have the flexibility to take the RoadTrip anywhere using a tank.

Some of the larger event grilles are high pressure which means they take the LP directly from the tank with no regulator. A high pressure appliance will not run on the low pressure that is available on our trailers.

Now if the event grille is a low pressure grille, then you should be able to direct swap it for your existing one. I would be concerned about adequate volume of gas at the far end of the trailer when you fire up more than a couple of burners.