PDA

View Full Version : Surge protectors

howard
04-01-2013, 09:57 AM
The most recent Good Sam magazine has a large article on RV campground surge protectors both portable and hardwired. A 50 amp unit runs from just over $100 to over $500. Has anyone had any experience actually needing one, or wishing they had one?

cabinfever
04-01-2013, 11:00 AM
Being a newbie myself, I have read a lot about them from the long timers on this site and others. Do you need one? No, but I decided for the cost of the portable unit I purchased not worth the risk of not having. I look at it as a one time cost insurance policy. This is the one I purchased....http://www.pplmotorhomes.com/parts/rv-power-cords/power-surge-protector-portable.htm

geo
04-01-2013, 11:02 AM
Howard -

I installed a Surge Guard 40250 ATS in our Alpine after Keystone recalled the original ATS. (You can find this in the Forum via "Search".) The 40250 is a combination surge guard with line testing and automatic transfer switch. Now, I cannot tell you if I "really" needed it or not, after all like the article you mentioned says - surge guards are like insurance, if needed you will wish you had it. However, I can say that our 40250 found an area at our favorite campground that someone in the past had mis-wired. The 50 amp neutral and ground wire were swapped - giving both an "Open Neutral" and "Open Ground" error. In August with all the RV air conditioners going on and off, out in the wilds of North Texas . . . I can only guess the consequences!

Ron

davidcyndi
04-01-2013, 11:20 AM
When you need one its already too late. Do yourself a favor and buy one. Integrated or inline surge protector it doesn't matter just get one. Read reviews and listen to what people have to say. That is what I did and I ended up with an in line
http://www.campingworld.com/shopping/item/Portable-Surge-Guards-With-LCD-Display-50-Amp/58465/&?&affiliateid=3274&cvsfa=2734&cvsfe=2&cvsfhu=3538343635&gclid=CMzXpveXqrYCFQ6ynQodjHQAWw

SAABDOCTOR