Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Keystone RV Forums > Keystone Tech Forums > General RV Issues
Click Here to Login

Old 06-13-2019, 05:23 AM   #1
SAM101814

RV power

Hi all,

I'm new to RVing and just bought a 2008 Keystone Cougar 29BHS travel trailer. The trailer is on a permanent site plugged into a 30 amp shoreline service. My question is...how do I know if I'm running on shoreline power or my 12 volt battery? I don't see a switch anywhere in the RV that switches between the two.

Thank you.
SAM101814 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2019, 05:39 AM   #2
Canonman

The short answer is any time you're plugged in you're running on shore power. The long answer is your Cougar has two electrical systems. 12vdc and 110vac. Shore power is connected to a converter in your Cougar that provides the 12vdc needed for your lights and 12v accessories in addition to charging the batteries. The 110v system is directly connected to shore power through breaker switches just like at home. When shore power is removed, you no longer have power to any of your 110v accessories like the microwave or power outlets. With shore power removed, the battery will power your 12v system without any manual changeover required because the battery is always connected through your 12v fuses at the converter. There are some other details like slide out operation and water pump etc. but that's a brief description.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_5714.jpg
Views:	130
Size:	1.43 MB
ID:	22251  
I think the little voices in my head have started a chat group.
Canonman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2019, 05:39 AM   #3
SummitPond

We look to see if the clock display on the microwave is lit up, then we know we have shore power.