Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Keystone RV Forums > Keystone Tech Forums > Tow Vehicles
Click Here to Login

Old 01-07-2019, 07:15 AM   #1
cookinwitdiesel

Diesel Truck Maintanence

I am new to having a Diesel vehicle - got my truck new in late August and have not even put 1000 miles on it yet. I have gotten the impression that Diesel engines need more care and attention than gas counterparts.

Historically, with my gas daily drivers, I just take them in and get the scheduled services and oil change every 5k miles. As the truck is an extra vehicle and not driven regularly, I would take it in at least once a year (if that year includes less than 5k miles). Is there any reason that this service regimen would not be sufficient? On average the truck probably gets driven once a week for hauling something or going to Costco so it is not idle for long periods of time, but not used nearly as regularly as my SUV. Up to this point, I have just been filling it with the Diesel sold at the Shell a few miles from me in town - have not made any special effort to find "Top Grade" fuels or used any additives - has ran fine so far (only 3 fill ups).

As mentioned, I am no gear head (5k mile dealer services on my SUV), I just want to take reasonably good care of my vehicle so I can get a full service life and value out of it.

Thanks in advance for any advice and tips you can share!
(OLD) 2018 Keystone Hideout 28RKS Travel Trailer
cookinwitdiesel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2019, 07:59 AM   #2
travelin texans

Unless it's changed from mine the book says "10000 miles or once a year" on oil changes. I generally just go by the % gauge, change around 10%. So far 131k miles on the current truck, 176k on the previous & no problems on either.