Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Keystone RV Forums > Keystone Tech Forums > Repairs & Maintenance
Click Here to Login

Old 12-10-2019, 07:31 PM   #1
flrtrader

Doing Serious Brake upgrade 2013 Alpine 3555RL Drum/Disc

I was talking to a friend that told me if I were going to do any Mountain traveling Since I pull with a Gas 3500 DWD I should replace my Drum brakes with Disc. He told me that he had it done and it cost him about 3k. I am a decent car/truck mechanic and think this could be done myself for a fraction of the cost. Has anyone done this upgrade on a 5'er

Thanks

Keith
flrtrader is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2019, 07:57 PM   #2
bobbecky

We had the upgrade done to our rig in June and it works great. The upgrade was done by Performance Trailer Braking and done at the RV park we were at. The cost of parts, which included the Timken bearing upgrade was a little over $2200. Went with 7K/8K rotors with the Timken bearings, Kodiak calipers, and the Brakerite EHD electric over hydraulic actuator. The system was installed by one of their installers which usually charges $1000 for the install plus fluids and grease.
bobbecky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2019, 08:31 AM   #3
flrtrader

Quote:
Originally Posted by bobbecky View Post
We had the upgrade done to our rig in June and it works great. The upgrade was done by Performance Trailer Braking and done at the RV park we were at. The cost of parts, which included the Timken bearing upgrade was a little over $2200. Went with 7K/8K rotors with the Timken bearings, Kodiak calipers, and the Brakerite EHD electric over hydraulic actuator. The system was installed by one of their installers which usually charges $1000 for the install plus fluids and grease.
Thanks So Much,