Go Back   Keystone RV Forums > Keystone Tech Forums > Keystone Questions
Click Here to Login

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-21-2017, 07:40 AM   #1
Alpine2015
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Marietta
Posts: 3
Bedroom Television

I have an Alpine 3010RE and I'm trying to figure out the connections I need to be able to use the bedroom television. Cable is my "source"... I've got 2 input choices outside (both are labeled for SAT). I've figured out how to get the main television operational but the bedroom television can't find the channels. I've turned off the signal booster and I've even tried the second available jack in the bedroom, but no success.
Shouldn't the same pedestal-camper connection work for both tvs? Or - do I need a splitter at the pedestal to get to the camper's second "SAT" input...
Thanks in advance for any suggestions!!


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________

Alpine2015 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2017, 09:55 AM   #2
Pull Toy
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Southeastern Connectiut
Posts: 621
You should have an outside jack for cable that feeds both TVs. If it is only feeding one, my guess is that one of the co-ax fittings is not correctly connected. As you mentioned, the amplifier needs to be turned OFF for the cable to work.

Since you have the main TV working, I would carefully check the splitter that is part of your amplifier box package, to be sure the bedroom jack is connected.

If your unit is similar to my 2013, when facing the outside jacks, the one closer to the front is cable. Once inside, my amplifier is behind the bedroom TV. It contains the splitter that feeds from there to the Living room set, and the storage/basement ceiling on the entrance side. This is great for the outdoor nights, when you want to sit outside, but still watch TV.

If you have a friend who is a telephone installer or an electrician. They can probably "Tone it out" for you in 5 minutes or less.

Goods Luck,
__________________

__________________

Pull Toy

Steve & Jan, Ava & Emma (Mini Schnauzers):
2006 F250 Lariat FX4 Powerstroke Crewcab "PULLTOY IV"
2013 Alpine 3535RE "MAGIC CARPET III"

Navy Vet!
Pull Toy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2017, 10:56 AM   #3
Alpine2015
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Marietta
Posts: 3
Thanks for the suggestions! I'll try following the path to see what's-going-where or not !!


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Alpine2015 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2017, 09:56 AM   #4
Propilot11
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Stuart, FL
Posts: 13
Sir. Among other careers I once installed cable. If you take a standard 9 volt battery, 6 inches of cable , one male connector, and 1 double female connector , you can make your own "line finder". Simply put on the male connector, and strip back enough of the other end of the cable and attach the center lead to the battery + and twist the braid and connect to the battery--
Connect to your cable inlet and simply check your cable outlets for 9 volts
Propilot11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2017, 11:05 AM   #5
Bisjoe
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Sammamish
Posts: 28
I had this same problem when I installed the second TV in the bedroom of our Springdale. It turned out to be a very simple problem, the TV itself. It displayed "searching" and then "signal not found" so I thought it was somehow not connected. It turned out that I just need to hit the "menu" button on the remote and follow the setup procedure so it would know what kind of signal to look for.
__________________
2017 Springdale 202QBWE, 2017 F150 XLT 5.0

Bisjoe is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2017, 02:36 PM   #6
Alpine2015
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Marietta
Posts: 3
Bedroom Television

Thanks for the suggestions. I suspect that I'll need to review each of my connections and trace their connectivity. I have 2 input possibilities (both say Sat) outside at the "convenience center". At the main TV wall there are 3 choices and at the bedroom TV there's another jack beside the one with the booster. I "think" I figured out how to get cable to the main TV (it works!) but I may be running cable through the antenna line... I use a different jack at the main RV for satellite than I do for cable (and a different coax to the TV). I've been able to use the main TV(Sat or cable) but not the bedroom - other than a small number of channels via the antenna.... Perhaps next trip out I'll start anew!!!! (And I haven't even tried the outside/basement jack yet!!)
WHEWWWWW!!! Thanks again for your suggestions!
__________________

Alpine2015 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
bed, bedroom, television

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -8. The time now is 02:21 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
This forum is owned and operated by Social Knowledge, LLC. It is not authorized or endorsed by the Keystone RV Company and is not affiliated with the Keystone RV Company or its related companies in any way. Keystone RV® is a registered trademark of the Keystone RV Company.