Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Keystone RV Forums > Keystone Tech Forums > Technical Corner
Click Here to Login

Old 02-27-2024, 11:14 AM   #1
totaljustice

Upgrade 30 amp campground pedestal to 50 amp

Hello all,

I was looking for some advice. My wife and I just bought a new Keystone Retreat park model trailer and now have a bit of an issue. This trailer is a 50 amp trailer but the campground I'm in does not have any sites that are 50 amp. I pay for my own power and have my own meter with the power company. The owner has given me permission to upgrade the pedestal to 50 amps(at my own expense of course). I have zero experience with electrical other than I know that the power comes from the holes!!!. What I would like to know is if anyone here has run into the same issue and have paid an electrician to upgrade their service. If you have, what's involved? I know that new electrical cable would have to be run and buried from the meter to the pedestal with new outlet, breaker and those components. I'm looking for a very rough ballpark for cost to upgrade if anyone else has experience with this type of thing. I'm just looking for a baseline for when I call some electricians to ensure I don't end up getting hosed. Also I live in Nova Scotia, Canada. Thanks for any advice you can provide.
totaljustice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2024, 11:20 AM   #2
sourdough
Site Team

How far is it from the pole/meter to your ped? The length of the run will have a significant impact on the cost. I had approx. 100' of cable ran through an attic, down a wall then buried to a ped they installed. They installed a new 50A breaker in the box and 50A receptacle on the ped - $1800. I have no idea what pricing is like in Nova Scotia.
sourdough is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2024, 11:30 AM   #3
totaljustice