Go Back   Keystone RV Forums > Keystone Fleet | Keystone RV Models > Travel Trailers
Click Here to Login

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-05-2018, 04:23 PM   #11
JRTJH
Site Team
 
JRTJH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Gaylord
Posts: 12,885
Yup, that's what's under the cover. It's a "auto-reset 12 VDC circuit breaker"... That's what's "under the cover" Here's what it looks like "with the cover".... About $5 at any RV parts store. Buy a new "red cover" if it doesn't come with one. Another $1, but well worth it. When you reinstall it (it looks like the screw and part of the mounting tab is shown in the first photo) don't tighten the screw too much or you'll crush the tab and it will break again.

Be sure to look carefully at how it's connected. There is a "hot side and a protected side" usually marked BATT and LOAD. Don't hook it up backwards, although it will still work, it doesn't protect the circuits if there are two or more in series. Usually, on Keystone RV's you'll find two mounted very close together. One for "main power" and one for the slides/jacks.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	30 amp breaker installed.jpg
Views:	36
Size:	52.6 KB
ID:	18419  
Attached Images
 
__________________

__________________
John



2015 F250 6.7l 4x4
2014 Cougar X Lite 27RKS
JRTJH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2018, 02:14 AM   #12
notanlines
Senior Member
 
notanlines's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Memphis, TN
Posts: 2,616
Inquiring minds wanted to know....Thanks John and Bob.
__________________

__________________
Jim in Memphis
Wife of 46 years is Brenda
2014 F-350 6.7 Powerstroke
2017 Mobile Suites
20K Reese slider
2001 Road king w/matching Harley sidecar
notanlines is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2018, 07:55 AM   #13
cavediver
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Swanton
Posts: 82
Quote:
Originally Posted by chuckster57 View Post
That is a resettable circuit breaker. The picture looks like the mounting tab has broken off. If your close to the selling dealer, it shouldnít take but about 1/2hr.

If your too far away or donít feel like spending the money on fuel for a $5.00 part, you can replace it yourself. Just make sure to match the rating (should be stamped on the breaker) and put the leads on the right posts, they are color coded so just match new with old.

Unless you have a battery disconnect, then you will have parasitic draws on the battery. Two choices: take the positive cable off the battery post, or install a disconnect on the positive lead. Installation will depend on type/brand but Iím sure there are numerous videos.
What he said.
cavediver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2018, 10:50 AM   #14
larryflew
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: MN
Posts: 50
Power side is the copper looking screw and load side is silver.
larryflew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2018, 11:40 AM   #15
MJM-NY
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Owego
Posts: 34
here is the backside of the breaker, i'm guessing this is a 30amp?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	elec.jpg
Views:	18
Size:	112.7 KB
ID:	18526  
MJM-NY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2018, 01:10 PM   #16
BadmanRick
Member
 
BadmanRick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Lehigh Acres
Posts: 45
If you donít install a cut off switch or remove the positive battery connector. I suggest you plug in the unit to an electric connection. If you donít have a 30amp connection available then get a 30amp to 110 adapter and plug into a 20 amp service if available. This will keep your battery charged via the onboard battery charger. If you disconnect your battery you can still remove it and get a battery maintainer at home. This will keep the battery fully charged all the time.
BadmanRick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2018, 07:15 PM   #17
TJH
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Redmond
Posts: 1
Auto Reset Circuit Breaker

Yes, as others have stated, it is an auto reset circuit breaker. Someone stole my battery about 6 weeks ago and disconnected the battery by just cutting the cables. I had to install new cables - one of which was attached to one of these circuit breakers. (I didn't know what they were until I went to a RV parts shop and inquired.) The cable had corrosion fused to the breaker stud, so I ended up destroying and had to install new ones. I found out:
1) Some are resettable, some are auto reset. The ones on our trailer were auto reset.
2) There were two on our trailer - and they are different values protecting different portions of the trailer.
3) To make reasseble more reliable, I take pictures of everything with my phone as I dissassemble and reinstall in reverse.

Learning something new every day owning a trailer.

To prevent or hinder future thieves, I fabbed up and welded a lockable "cage" to the battery frame.
TJH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2018, 09:43 AM   #18
flybouy
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Joppa, MD
Posts: 1,007
When I stored in a storage lot I used one of these. http://www.statetrailer.com/products...00&detail=true
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	battery-Lock.jpg
Views:	6
Size:	52.7 KB
ID:	18578  
__________________

__________________
2012 Laredo 303 TG
2010 F250 LT SCAB long bed 4X4 6.4 Turbo Deisel
flybouy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
battery

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3
Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by the Keystone RV Company or any of its affiliates in any way. Keystone RVģ is a registered trademark of the Keystone RV Company.


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 08:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.