Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Keystone RV Forums > Keystone Community Forums > Freeways & Byways
Click Here to Login

Old 07-04-2019, 04:52 AM   #1
Jayster10

Bridge and Overpass Route Planning

Hi everyone,

I have seen a lot of posts about clearance and best routes so I thought I would offer a recommendation. I’m relatively new to 5er driving and read about an app that has helped me make sure I stay clear of any low bridges or over passes. It’s called Copilot. It like a google maps for RVs. You enter in your RV dimensions when you create your profile and then you use it like any other gps nav system. It automatically creates a route for you that will ensure RV clearance along your route. It’s free to use, in app purchase for extra features, but really easy to use. I’m not trying to sell it, I have no connection to the app but just wanted to tell anyone who could use it. Being new to RVs it has helped take some of that fear away from hitting something to low.
Jayster10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2019, 05:27 AM   #2
Sinton4616

Following.

Sinton4616 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2019, 06:20 AM   #3
Sinton4616

Reading the feedback and FAQ on Copilot. Website states:
The RV/Caravan profile that was previously available in Auto and Truck apps was limited in its functionality and not designed to take into consideration dimensions for weight, width or length when calculating a route.

Feedback from users of this profile led us to create the CoPilot RV/Caravan app which provides RV/Caravan safe routing by permitting users to enter dimensions for their vehicle and obtain appropriate routing to avoid low bridges, narrow roads, and weight restricted roads.