Go Back   Keystone RV Forums > Keystone Tech Forums > Technical Corner
Click Here to Login

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-08-2018, 10:06 AM   #1
piccolo
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: lexington
Posts: 3
getting satellite to bedroom tv

I have a 2015 outback 326rl that we love!! I have a dish mounted on tripod that we carry with us. My problem is I only get satellite reception on big screen in living room, only receive rig antenna in bedroom. How can I get satellite picture in bedroom? I can watch air tv but would rather have satellite in bedroom also.... any ideas??
__________________

piccolo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2018, 10:09 AM   #2
chuckster57
Site Team
 
chuckster57's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Modesto
Posts: 7,751
If your bedroom only has one coax out, then your out of luck, Only option in that case is to run another dedicated coax.
__________________

__________________

2012 Copper Canyon 273FWRET being towed by a 1994 Ford F350 CC,LB,Dually diesel.
Airlift 5000 bags, Prodigy brake control, 5 gauges on the pillar.Used to tow a '97 Jayco 323RKS.

Now an RVIA registered tech. Retired from Law enforcement in 2008 after 25+ yrs.
chuckster57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2018, 01:22 PM   #3
DocP
Member
 
DocP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Macedonia
Posts: 90
Quote:
Originally Posted by piccolo View Post
I have a 2015 outback 326rl that we love!! I have a dish mounted on tripod that we carry with us. My problem is I only get satellite reception on big screen in living room, only receive rig antenna in bedroom. How can I get satellite picture in bedroom? I can watch air tv but would rather have satellite in bedroom also.... any ideas??
I was in the same situation as you. Here's what I bought: https://www.amazon.com/Wireless-Tran...r+and+receiver

I bought mine directly from the manufacturer for $30 less than the price in the link above.

It just arrived yesterday, and I did a preliminary check on the entire setup. So far, the setup is working fine! I added an hdmi splitter to the mix (one hdmi cable from the DirecTV box to the splitter input, one hdmi cable from the splitter #1 out, and another hdmi cable from the splitter #2 out to the wireless hdmi receiver).

The distance between the living room tv and bedroom tv is pretty short, so the reception is great on the bedroom tv. There's a 30 day return period on this wireless setup, so I'll test the heck out of the setup during that time period to make sure that I get a reliable and strong transmission signal.

By the way, with this setup, I only need one DirecTV box, which also means that I can't be watching different shows on both tv's. I'm okay with that. Also, I have my DirecTV box and remote controls set to RF (radio frequency), so that I can control the DirecTV box in the living room from the bedroom.
__________________
DocP (Michael)
2018 Cougar 32RLI
2018 Chevy Silverado 2500 HD Z71 with 4.10 axle
DocP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2018, 04:06 AM   #4
{tpc}
Senior Member
 
{tpc}'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Berkley
Posts: 543
For us, the "kitchen tv" and the "bedroom tv" are mounted on the opposite sides of the same wall. I installed a hdmi splitter and fed the output from our dish box to the input of that, and then one output to one tv, one to the other.

This way the flip of a switch and its on the other tv. I left the antenna connected to the kitchen tv, so we can use that in there and the sat in the bedroom. IIRC the splitter I have wont put the hdmi signal on both outputs at the same time.
__________________
Tony & Leslie
2014 Passport Ultra Lite 2300BH Grand Touring
2018 Ford F150 2.7l Ecoboost SCrew 4x4

{tpc} is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2018, 04:29 AM   #5
DocP
Member
 
DocP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Macedonia
Posts: 90
Quote:
Originally Posted by {tpc} View Post
For us, the "kitchen tv" and the "bedroom tv" are mounted on the opposite sides of the same wall. I installed a hdmi splitter and fed the output from our dish box to the input of that, and then one output to one tv, one to the other.

This way the flip of a switch and its on the other tv. I left the antenna connected to the kitchen tv, so we can use that in there and the sat in the bedroom. IIRC the splitter I have wont put the hdmi signal on both outputs at the same time.
Just curious. Does your HDMI splitter have its own power supply or just a cable without power? My HDMI splitter has 4 outputs and it is possible to watch the same program on all TV's at the same time (https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0...?ie=UTF8&psc=1).

I had thought about just routing a long HDMI cable from an HDMI splitter attached to the the living room TV to the bedroom TV, but didn't want to get into running it through the enclosed underbelly.
__________________
DocP (Michael)
2018 Cougar 32RLI
2018 Chevy Silverado 2500 HD Z71 with 4.10 axle
DocP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2018, 06:27 AM   #6
{tpc}
Senior Member
 
{tpc}'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Berkley
Posts: 543
Quote:
Originally Posted by DocP View Post
Just curious. Does your HDMI splitter have its own power supply or just a cable without power? My HDMI splitter has 4 outputs and it is possible to watch the same program on all TV's at the same time (https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0...?ie=UTF8&psc=1).

I had thought about just routing a long HDMI cable from an HDMI splitter attached to the the living room TV to the bedroom TV, but didn't want to get into running it through the enclosed underbelly.
I am fairly certain it has its own small wall wort of some sort. Everything is still in storage so I can't confirm but in my minds eye I believe I had to add in a small adapter on the wall plug to allow for 3 things to be plugged in there. (TV, Splitter, Dish Box)

Depending on location, you might be able to hide it using wall moulding. Not the most elegant, but I would do that before going underneath. I would test it out first as the signal might diminish over such a long run (for the hdmi cable).

Edit: FWIW, I went with the one I did in order to save space as the splitter is only 2x2. Of course I had all kinds of ideas where I would permanently mount the DISH box that never came to fruition either.
__________________
Tony & Leslie
2014 Passport Ultra Lite 2300BH Grand Touring
2018 Ford F150 2.7l Ecoboost SCrew 4x4

{tpc} is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2018, 06:02 AM   #7
Indy Steve
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Indianapolis
Posts: 5
If you're wanting a separate receiver in the bedroom, there is a flat coax cable you can get that allows you to run through a window and still close it completely.

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0...?ie=UTF8&psc=1
Indy Steve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2018, 06:10 AM   #8
Harleydodge
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Kingston
Posts: 221
I also use a wireless transmitter to get my Satellite Feed to my Bedroom TV as well as my outdoor TV. I did not care so much about having High Def so I cheaped out and went with These: https://www.amazon.com/Nyrius-Transm...pSrc=srch&th=1
__________________

2013 Raptor 310ts Toy Hauler
2017 Dodge Ram 6.7l CTD DRW Laramie Longhorn
2008 FLHTC Harley.

Harleydodge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2018, 09:30 AM   #9
ChuckS
Senior Member
 
ChuckS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Mountain Home, Idaho
Posts: 453
You’d most likely be happiest with wireless HDMI splitter.. too long of a run for cable unless you spend big bucks for quality cable.. even then might not work as well.. been using wireless HDMI in our fifth wheel with DTV dish for four seasons... distance from wireless to wireless in bedroom tv about 32 feet.. no signal issues, quick and simple setup...

Also if you have blue ray player in LR you could split HDMI signal from that into same wirelsss HDMI and have CD watch capability in BR...
__________________


2007 GMC Classic club cab 4x4 Duramax LBZ
2014 Alpine 3010 RE. 34 foot fifth wheel
ChuckS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2018, 06:52 PM   #10
DMK
Member
 
DMK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: On the road - FT
Posts: 87
Here is what we use and it has worked flawlessly. https://www.amazon.com/Nyrius-Transm...ss%2Bhdmi&th=1
__________________

__________________

2013 Raptor 300 MP, MORryde 8K IS, Kodiak disc brakes, 940 watt solar system, 830 ah battery bank, Magnum 2000 watt pure sine wave inverter/charger, ME-ARC, ME-AGS, ME-BMK.

2005 Freightliner Century Class S/T, 14L 60 Series Detroit, 10 spd Ultrashift, w/3.73, Trailer Saver TSLB 3 bag hitch.
DMK is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
bed, bedroom, satellite

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3
Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by the Keystone RV Company or any of its affiliates in any way. Keystone RVģ is a registered trademark of the Keystone RV Company.


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 11:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.