Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Keystone RV Forums > Keystone Community Forums > Freeways & Byways
Click Here to Login

Old 01-06-2024, 07:46 AM   #1
SRD

Best route for inexperience

We will be leaving our home around May 28 for a first time trip to Yellowstone/Tetons. So far our route plan has us hooking up with I90 in Sioux Falls SD.From Sioux Falls to Buffalo,from Buffalo take 16 to Worland, then 16-20 north to Greybull. From there take 14-20 to Cody. I have no experience towing in the mountains and weather conditions In late May are concerning. Our check in date at Yellowstone is June 1st, be there 6 days then to Tetons for 6. Any advice appreciated
SRD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2024, 09:15 AM   #2
RollaMo

Quote:
Originally Posted by SRD View Post
We will be leaving our home around May 28 for a first time trip to Yellowstone/Tetons. So far our route plan has us hooking up with I90 in Sioux Falls SD.From Sioux Falls to Buffalo,from Buffalo take 16 to Worland, then 16-20 north to Greybull. From there take 14-20 to Cody. I have no experience towing in the mountains and weather conditions In late May are concerning. Our check in date at Yellowstone is June 1st, be there 6 days then to Tetons for 6. Any advice appreciated
For really good advice, it might help if you listed more details.

From "Home" to Yellowstone/Tetons. Where is "home" (at least city/state)
Where kind of trailer? bumper pull, 5th wheel, model number
What are you pulling it with? Make, model, year, gas, diesel, etc.
Old 01-06-2024, 09:38 AM   #3
SRD

Lack of info

Our home is east central Indiana. My trailer is a 2017 Passort Elite 19rb. 24’ long tandem axle. My tow vehicle 2016 Silverado 1500 Z71 2lt 5.3 liter with tow package including brake controller, transmission cooler, Lt tires
Old 01-07-2024, 11:59 AM   #4
locomech