Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Keystone RV Forums > Keystone RV Customer Comments > Prospective Owners' Questions
Click Here to Login

Old 05-27-2018, 09:13 AM   #1
katina

Looking to buy - long term stays

Hello-
I am new to this whole thing. I plan to have my rv in one spot for 7 months and then have moved to a warm weather park the other 5. So- I just started looking and so far I think Keystone has the best layouts. And they are not all dark. Geesh, what is with the dark colors??! Anyway - loved the forum info on the Outback vs Springdale. I looked at both and like that floor plan. I just saw a Springdale in biscotti that was nice and light. I'm looking at 35 - 37'. Do not want a bunkhouse. Any tips, advice for this type of living and what I might need to think about? Y'all are the experts!! Thank you!!!
katina is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2018, 09:55 AM   #2
Ken / Claudia

So questions that need a answer. Are you moving it? If so make sure you have a vehicle that is up to the job. There are guys that will move it so you do not need to buy a BIG truck.
With a truck in mind, they all print what the truck can pull, few say what it can carry. Those are 2 different things. That information is printed on a yellow sticker near the driver door from around 2005 models and newer. Each vehicle may have different numbers even in the same model and year.
When you look at a RV they print what the unit weights empty. When you move it they weigh a lot more. Use the Max loaded weight, GVWR as a guide to what it might really weigh.
Learn how even item is turned on/off in the RV by the dealer showing as they explain everything. Read the manuals and ask questions when stumped.
That is a start.