Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Keystone RV Forums > Keystone Fleet | Keystone RV Models > Fifth Wheels
Click Here to Login

Old 08-04-2018, 05:53 AM   #1
Mcrafty1

Gas/electric water heater

First let me say hello all, I'm new to Keystone RVs . I recently purchased a 2011 Montana Mountaineer, my problem is the gas/ electric water heater doesn't seem to be working on the electric side, i haven't found a switch to turn it on electric...only a switch for gas. The heater comes on from time to time to reheat the water when no water is being used...I would think that electricity would maintain water temperature when not drawing any water...how do I turn on / determine if electric side is working.Thanks for any help you can offer.
Mcrafty1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2018, 06:04 AM   #2
chuckster57
Site Team

Welcome to the forum!!
Make and model of water heater makes it easier. Some have a switch at the lower left corner on the outside, some have no switch at the water heater.

2012 Copper Canyon 273FWRET being towed by a 1994 Ford F350 CC,LB,Dually diesel.
Airlift 5000 bags, Prodigy brake control, 5 gauges on the pillar.Used to tow a '97 Jayco 323RKS.

Now an RVIA registered tech. Retired from Law enforcement in 2008 after 25+ yrs.
chuckster57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2018, 07:08 AM   #3
wiredgeorge

Open the outside door of the water heater. There will be a tag in there telling you which brand of water heater you have. If it is a Suburban and 6 gallons, the tag will say SW6DE... the SW is Suburban water heater, 6 is the number of gallons and D is direct spark (propane) and E is electric.