Go Back   Keystone RV Forums > Keystone Community Forums > Full-timers & Snowbirds
Click Here to Login

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-06-2018, 08:04 PM   #1
mcomeaux
Senior Member
 
mcomeaux's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Sunriver
Posts: 102
CPAP Battery supply?

Was wondering what one would do to run a RESMED10 on a battery supply.
We will be traveling here shortly and may be off grid a few nights. Any suggestions? I did purchase a 150w portable battery from Amazon but it would only power the unit 6 hrs.
__________________

__________________
2017 Fuzion 345
2018 Dodge Ram 3500 6.7 3.73
mcomeaux is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2018, 09:27 PM   #2
B-O-B'03
Senior Member
 
B-O-B'03's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Texas
Posts: 816
I am guessing the CPAP is a 110 volt unit?

If so, why not get a small inverter that will provide 110V from the RV batteries?

If the RV batteries need a charge and you are dry camping, a solar panel might be all that you need, depending on load, to keep the batteries charged.

-Brian
__________________

__________________
2014 Bullet Premier 22RBPR - let the camping commence!
2013 F150 Platinum - 5.0 - 3.55 ELD + towing package
B-O-B'03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2018, 09:45 PM   #3
bobbecky
Senior Member
 
bobbecky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Box Elder
Posts: 1,523
They offer converters that will power your device from 12 volts DC. https://www.resmed.com/us/en/consume...equipment.html
__________________
Bob & Becky
2012 3402 Montana
2012 Chevy 2500HD D/A CC
bobbecky is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2018, 04:05 AM   #4
LCC
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Muscle Shoals
Posts: 6
Most of major CPAP manufacturers offer some sort of portable battery supply for use with their equipment, but often they are expensive and generally supply power for brief periods of use (usually on the order of hours). One trick I have seen used in the Missionary field and in other situations where users will be off grid for extended periods of time includes a deep cycle battery and an appropriate “clip on” inverter. CPAP run time is usually measured in days and the only down side being bulk. In fact, I’ve seen that set up in a number of brick and mortar homes that are subject to frequent power outages or are remote from the local utility providers and whose electrical service is slow to be restored after outages.
LCC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2018, 07:04 AM   #5
travelin texans
Senior Member
 
travelin texans's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Picacho Peak Rv Resort
Posts: 2,640
Quote:
Originally Posted by bobbecky View Post
They offer converters that will power your device from 12 volts DC. https://www.resmed.com/us/en/consume...equipment.html

That would be an "inverter".
__________________
Danny & Linda
Former '13 Redwood FB owner
Currently rvless!
travelin texans is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2018, 07:05 AM   #6
JRTJH
Site Team
 
JRTJH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Gaylord
Posts: 16,463
The air pump in a CPAP is not the "power consumer". It's the heating circuit for the humidifier. The humidifier can be turned off as can the heating element for the "hose temperature". With those two features off, the system will run on a "Shumacher jump starter/inverter/compressor" for 3 nights (about 20 hours).

There are other means to power the CPAP, buying a 12VDC adapter for the device, buying a "stand alone inverter" and using the trailer battery being the most popular.

Here is the Shumacher jump starter we use. It's available at Lowe's and many other stores. https://www.lowes.com/pd/Schumacher-...ter/1000569111
__________________
John



2015 F250 6.7l 4x4
2014 Cougar X Lite 27RKS
JRTJH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2018, 09:18 PM   #7
bobbecky
Senior Member
 
bobbecky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Box Elder
Posts: 1,523
Quote:
Originally Posted by travelin texans View Post
That would be an "inverter".
The description on their site indicates the device connects directly to 12 vdc to power the cpap machine and works just like the battery. Don’t know what the standard battery voltage is, so possibly the conversion is from 12 V to whatever the cpap needs for voltage.
bobbecky is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2018, 03:31 AM   #8
mazboy
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 117
you could plug it into your 110 volt receptacle in your truck:-)
mazboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2018, 03:56 AM   #9
fixn2gocamp
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Currently on the road somewhere
Posts: 43
I am in the process of installing a pure sine inverter in our Passport Elite TT to power my Resmed CPAP. Resmed advised me that it would require a 300/500W pure sine inverter.
__________________
Richard, Samme and Honor, The Cat
2017 Passport Elite 23RB
Blue Ox ProSway WDH 1000LB
2015 Dodge Ram 1500 HEMI 5.7 Quad Cab 4x4
Also in inventory: 2009 Southwind 36D
fixn2gocamp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2018, 03:02 PM   #10
Canskan
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Dryden
Posts: 7
This is what I bought for my 5th...Installed a 12v socket next to my side of bed...runs off system 12v (2 parallel connected group 31 AGM batteries) 🙂
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_20181010-175552_Chrome.jpg
Views:	85
Size:	91.9 KB
ID:	18886   Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_20181010-175620_Chrome.jpg
Views:	72
Size:	129.4 KB
ID:	18887  
Canskan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2018, 03:05 PM   #11
Canskan
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Dryden
Posts: 7
It makes 12v dc into 24v dc.
Canskan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2018, 03:36 PM   #12
barnmichael
Junior Member
 
barnmichael's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Dallas, Oregon
Posts: 10
I used to use a CPAP. The basic unit ran off 12V provided by the line lump power supply. I disconnected the humidifier when traveling and just got a 12V power cord with the appropriate connector that plugged into the cigar lighter socket by the TV. Ran fine all night. You do want to verify your particular unit does indeed run from 12V. All the ones I have seen do, but never hurts to be sure.
__________________


Michael & Sharon
WA7SKG & N8QBX
2006 24' Cougar 5th wheel
2005 F350 Long Bed Crew Cab
barnmichael is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2018, 04:43 PM   #13
Canskan
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Dryden
Posts: 7
Here are the specs for the Airsense 10 AC power supply...showing 24v dc output..... therefore if using 12v in then 24vdc out is required.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_20181010-193534_Chrome.jpg
Views:	63
Size:	126.4 KB
ID:	18888  
Canskan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2018, 05:46 AM   #14
Canskan
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Dryden
Posts: 7
A direct conversion from 12v to 24vdc is more efficient than going from 12v through an inverter to make 110vAc ...then back through the Airsence10 power supply to 24vdc.
Each device that makes a conversion along the chain is never 100% efficient and therefore unnecessarily wastes power. Simply...If a device gets even slightly warm while doing its job of converting...that's wasted power that could otherwise be used to run the Cpap machine.
Canskan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2018, 07:08 AM   #15
travelin texans
Senior Member
 
travelin texans's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Picacho Peak Rv Resort
Posts: 2,640
Quote:
Originally Posted by mazboy View Post
you could plug it into your 110 volt receptacle in your truck:-)
If your truck has that option.
Then what, sleep in the truck with the motor running?
__________________
Danny & Linda
Former '13 Redwood FB owner
Currently rvless!
travelin texans is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2019, 04:11 AM   #16
fable081
Member
 
fable081's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Lawrencetown Beach
Posts: 35
I have the same cord as Cancam but I also carry a self contained Deep Cycle Power Pack as my alternate 12 volt source (see pic). My Resmed CPAP will run for 3 nights before requiring a recharge. I trickle charge it as we travel so it is always ready as a backup.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Power Pack.JPG
Views:	57
Size:	46.2 KB
ID:	21534  
__________________
Chuck & Mary Lynn
Ares (Golden Retriever) Zeus (Springer Spaniel)
2017 Cougar 28 RKS 5th
2017 Ford F-250 6.7 l

fable081 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2019, 05:38 AM   #17
fordmd
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: Elk Grove
Posts: 13
Most trucks, all that I have worked on, the truck would have to run all night,
fordmd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2019, 05:43 AM   #18
fordmd
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: Elk Grove
Posts: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Canskan View Post
This is what I bought for my 5th...Installed a 12v socket next to my side of bed...runs off system 12v (2 parallel connected group 31 AGM batteries) 🙂
I know this post is old, and I’m late to the party. We have two machines to run, and I’m new to not have 110 volts all night! How long are you able to run? All night with the two batteries would be fine for me. Do you run the humidifier or shut it down to conserve?
fordmd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2019, 06:50 AM   #19
NH_Bulldog
Senior Member
 
NH_Bulldog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Henniker
Posts: 187
My CPAP uses 110vac or 12-24vdc. Any time you use an inverter to change DC to AC and then back to DC you lose a lot of energy. It is best to get the manufacturer’s pure sine converter and run straight off DC. I installed a 12v power point next to my bed and it works great. If this is a onetime thing or a rare event, I would just use the 12v port on a battery booster pack. It will last two nights and you can always charge it off the vehicle if it ran low
__________________
Rob & Amy
2019 Passport 240BH SL
2015 Ford F150 3.5L Ecoboost SCrew 4x4 w/Max Tow Pkg
NH_Bulldog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2019, 10:08 PM   #20
larryflew
Senior Member
 
larryflew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: MN
Posts: 201
I also just added a 12 volt cig lighter socket and run off the trailer batteries.
Have only used it for the occasional 1 nighter with no problems.
__________________

__________________
37 foot Alpine dragged by GMC 3500.
larryflew is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
battery

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3
Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by the Keystone RV Company or any of its affiliates in any way. Keystone RV® is a registered trademark of the Keystone RV Company.


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 07:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×