Go Back   Keystone RV Forums > Keystone Tech Forums > Repairs & Maintenance
Click Here to Login

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-13-2017, 01:31 PM   #11
SteveC7010
Senior Member
 
SteveC7010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Northville NY in the Adirondacks
Posts: 2,004
Quote:
Originally Posted by Myk View Post
It may just be the picture but it looks like that box has gotten hot and melted around the power input area.
The area just above the right hand wire nut and below the PROGRAM label looks even worse.

My best guess is that the unit is fried. Because it is a potted assembly, there is basically no way to repair it and it will have to be completely replaced. It looks like it could be a simple enough swap-out, but I'd be much more concerned about what caused it to self immolate.

For the OP, is there an odd shaped cutout in your master control panel inside the trailer that has an obvious cut-out where something like a remote control would be stored? If not, that would confirm my suspicion that your controller there is not a remote control model. Mine is, and there are all kinds of components sticking up out of the epoxy potting which simply means that there is more complex circuitry on the circuit board to accommodate the wireless remote unit.

If you're not comfortable trouble shooting 12vdc RV electrical systems, it would be advisable for a skilled RV tech to evaluate and repair the unit. While the swap of the controller itself is pretty straight forward, if there's problem else where that is causing the unit to self destruct, the problem needs to be found and corrected first or you'll just burn up another brain.
__________________

__________________

'11 Cougar 326MKS loaded with mods
'12 Ford F250 SuperCab 6.7 PowerStroke Diesel
Amateur Radio: KD2IAT (146.520) GMRS: WQPG808 (462.675 TPL 141.3)
SteveC7010 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2017, 01:32 PM   #12
2 Good Life
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Baton Rouge
Posts: 11
Before you dump a bunch of money, check the circuit breaker from Battery to this controller, it may be reset able or it may be burnt! Lippert gets there controller/remotes from here- http://www.gamainc.com this is who makes it for them! 1/3 the price!!!!
__________________

2 Good Life is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2017, 01:34 PM   #13
SteveC7010
Senior Member
 
SteveC7010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Northville NY in the Adirondacks
Posts: 2,004
Why not have a mod merge this thread with the other one you started. No sense in having the same conversation in two concurrent threads.
__________________

'11 Cougar 326MKS loaded with mods
'12 Ford F250 SuperCab 6.7 PowerStroke Diesel
Amateur Radio: KD2IAT (146.520) GMRS: WQPG808 (462.675 TPL 141.3)
SteveC7010 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2017, 02:03 PM   #14
Kbez15
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Errington
Posts: 7
I was using the front Jacks when they stopped working and then discovered that the slideouts stopped working at the same time.
Should the unit be outputting voltage at all terminals during normal operation?
Kbez15 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2017, 02:10 PM   #15
SteveC7010
Senior Member
 
SteveC7010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Northville NY in the Adirondacks
Posts: 2,004
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kbez15 View Post
I was using the front Jacks when they stopped working and then discovered that the slideouts stopped working at the same time.
Should the unit be outputting voltage at all terminals during normal operation?
The unit should output voltage for a specific circuit only when activated from the control panel.

As I said in my previous post, it appears that the unit is burned up from your picture. You are there, so you should be able to easily confirm that by examination of it. A burned smell up close, black residue on your fingers when you touch the damaged areas, etc.

If the unit is burned up, it needs to be replaced by an RV tech.
__________________

'11 Cougar 326MKS loaded with mods
'12 Ford F250 SuperCab 6.7 PowerStroke Diesel
Amateur Radio: KD2IAT (146.520) GMRS: WQPG808 (462.675 TPL 141.3)
SteveC7010 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2017, 10:41 AM   #16
MG72B
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Gardner, MA
Posts: 16
I have a 2016 Keystone Cougar Xlite. This same thing happened to me. It was an in-line fuse. Mine was located in the front storage unit above the door. Open the door and reach up and you'll find some wire. The in-line fuse should be there.
__________________

MG72B is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
slide, slideout

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -8. The time now is 11:04 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
This forum is owned and operated by Social Knowledge, LLC. It is not authorized or endorsed by the Keystone RV Company and is not affiliated with the Keystone RV Company or its related companies in any way. Keystone RV® is a registered trademark of the Keystone RV Company.