Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Keystone RV Forums > Keystone Tech Forums > Tow Vehicles
Click Here to Login

Old 01-06-2019, 09:03 AM   #1
Tow Rookie

Ram 1500 Ecodiesel

Hello, I have never towed before and have a 2017 Ram 1500 ecodiesel that can tow 9200 lbs with 3.92 gears and looking at buying a 2011 Keystone cougar 27rls travel trailer 6145 lbs dry with 715 lbs tongue weight. Ram info: Max trailer weight rating listed as is 8,580 lbs as a 4x4 on ram spec sheet. (confusing)
GVWR 6950
Base weight 5695
GCWR 14,550

Can I safely tow this trailer with my family. I am new to towing and before I buy it from a private party, I need to make sure it is safe. Two adults and two kids in the family. Thank you in advance.
Tow Rookie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2019, 09:33 AM   #2
338RLKCougar

You have to look at the payload for your truck. In other words what you, your family, the tongue weight of the camper and what you will be carrying in the bed of your truck when you go camping and deduct that from what the Factory says the payload is. This will let you know if the truck is overloaded for it’s carrying capacity or not. Sounds like your truck will pull it but the question is, is there enough payload. The Ram website has this info in a PDF that you can download for free. Good luck and safe travels.
Old 01-06-2019, 09:51 AM   #3
JRTJH
Site Team

The GVW of the truck is a "hard and fast number"
The GCWR of the truck/trailer combo is also a "hard and fast number".
The base weight AND the payload are variables that must be considered and will change depending on loading. They will determine what is "left over" for the maximum trailer weight.

Let's look at some examples using your "numbers":

GVW - empty weight: 6950-5695 = 1255 payload
GCWR - empty weight: 14550-5695 = 8855 max trailer weight
GCWR - Truck GVW: 14550-6950 = 7600 max trailer weight