Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Keystone RV Forums > Keystone Tech Forums > Towing
Click Here to Login

Old 08-03-2017, 07:08 AM   #1
GaryWT

Tow/haul mode

I have always used the tow/haul mode when hooked up. For the most part everything was fine but at times when going up a hill the transmission would shift so low that I was up over 5,000 rpm. It was fine but loud etc. The last 2 trips I did not use the tow button and found the trips to be much better. The rpm's never went over 4,000 going up some of the same hills. Everything was smooth so I do not think I will ever use it again. Never did I feel I was between gears or that the transmission was searching or anything. Glad I tried it as it was a nice ride.
GaryWT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2017, 08:02 AM   #2
Ken / Claudia

I have no experience with your tranny but, other trucks when towing a heavy load without using the tow mode you will over heat the tranny and it will fail if you continue to not use it. Example, at the time I always it in my work truck never had any problems with the tranny thru the turn in of the truck at about 96,000 miles. Boss wanted to drive his truck pulling same boat I pulled weekly on a about 600 mile round trip to work the rouge river from pdx. He did not use tow mode, I ever looked at his dash or asked. That tranny failed 2 days after we returned. He had about 30,000 miles on that tranny.
As of 05-2020, I am all done with 39 years total police work. No more uniforms for me.
Ken / Claudia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2017, 08:41 AM   #3
Frank G

Quote:
Originally Posted by GaryWT View Post