Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Keystone RV Forums > Keystone Tech Forums > Towing
Click Here to Login

Closed Thread

Old 03-11-2019, 11:25 AM   #1
aumegrad

Passport 2670BH - F150 Max Tow Compatability

Hi, I am new to this forum and the TT world all together. We are currently looking to get our first TT and my family and I (wife and 3 kids) look forward to this new adventure in our lives. I have been researching TV, TT, and their combination for several months and am beginning to experience paralysis by analysis and was hoping for some input from the wise. I apologize in advance for this seemingly over-asked question, but I want to ensure I am making a safe decision. And while I realize the safest bet would be to pull these trailers would be a Kenworth T680, I am trying to balance this with practicality and responsibility. So please bear with me AND pardon me for my ignorance into this world ...

I recently upgraded from a passcar to an F-150 (2017 SCREW, 5.5' bed, 145” WB, w MAX Tow package), all in an effort to safely transport a TT and family. I wasn't looking for anything large and I drive a bit for work, so wanted something comfortable and this seemed to fit the bill. Unfortunately, I managed to somehow underestimate the payload issue. I have been looking at the Passport 2670BH and Kodiak Ultra-Lite 255BHSL. The lengths are 30.5’ and 28.8’, respectively. I believe I have accurately calculated the applicable loads at the TT's GVWR (@12% GTWR, assuming 20% TW xfer to the TT axles via WDH), though I never intend to get MAX as we plan to travel locally and to full hookup locations. I hopefully have correctly pasted the calculations below. Does this look accurate to you? Additionally, what are your thoughts on these combinations (I look forward to widely varying opinions )? I am more than happy to explain my calculations if needed.