Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Keystone RV Forums > Keystone Fleet | Keystone RV Models > Travel Trailers
Click Here to Login

Old 12-11-2023, 09:14 AM   #1
CBears

DC Fridge Use While Towing

I have a 2022 Ford F-250 gasser with the standard alternator that comes with the 7.3 engine. I just purchased a new 2024 Cougar Half-Ton 25mle with the 10cf Furrion DC fridge and the 200 solar package. I'm completely new to DC fridges as my prior TT had a propane/electric combo. The dealership told me the combination of the solar package and the TV will keep the TT battery charged and run the refrigerator while towing just fine. Since bringing the trailer home I've seen a couple of posts about TV charging which got me wondering if I was told appropriately or if I need to change/augment something to pull this off. We normally take a couple of 8-9 hour trips during the summer each year.

Thank You in advance!

Curt

TT: 2024 Cougar Half-Ton 25MLE
TV: 2022 F-250 Crew Cab XLT 7.3 Godzilla
Old TT: 2021 Jayco 264BH
Old TV: 2012 F-150 Crew Cab XLT EcoBoost
CBears is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2023, 10:03 AM   #2
dutchmensport

I don't have a Ford or a Cougar, but I would imagine the truck will keep the battery in the trailer trickle charged just fine to more than adequately run the refrigerator, plus enough power once you reach your destination to run jacks and slides too. From all I've read, those DC operated refrigerators are pretty efficient.