Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Keystone RV Forums > Keystone Tech Forums > Keystone Questions
Click Here to Login

Old 03-22-2019, 06:31 AM   #1
Tonyasr1

What kind of brakes are these

I bought a used 2004 Zeppelin z281 travel trailer.it dont have hubs on it and I am needing to buy new hubs and brakes but I cant figure out what kind ones I need looking to get the hub assembly
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20190322_090708.jpg
Views:	272
Size:	214.7 KB
ID:	20991   Click image for larger version

Name:	20190322_090705.jpg
Views:	206
Size:	223.6 KB
ID:	20992   Click image for larger version

Name:	20190322_090631.jpg
Views:	214
Size:	321.1 KB
ID:	20993  
Tonyasr1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2019, 06:48 AM   #2
Laredo Tugger

I'm not a certified mechanic but I can tell you that you have a shoe brake assembly. The hubs (pictured with the lug bolts protruding) are there. The part that is missing is the drum. They mount to the bolt pattern (concealing the shoes) before the wheels are installed. If you are wanting to restore the original brake assembly I would recommend new shoes, inspect and re-pack the bearings and find the correct hubs and have them "turned" at a brake shop. An alternative, for a price would be a disc brake kit.
RMc
Laredo Tugger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2019, 06:51 AM   #3
HitFactor
Gone Traveling

Good idea.

I would convert to disc brakes given what I see in these pics, regardless of price delta. Maintaining disc brakes is far easier.
HitFactor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2019, 06:55 AM   #4
Tonyasr1

so I have the hub I need a drum sorry I'm new to all this and don't want to be taken advanage because I dont know what I need
Old 03-22-2019, 07:03 AM   #5
Tonyasr1