Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Keystone RV Forums > Keystone Fleet | Keystone RV Models > Fifth Wheels
Click Here to Login

Old 10-08-2019, 01:57 PM   #1
mw2307

intake pump hose came out of fresh water holding tank

I am very new to trailers so just finished winterizing for first time with help from a more experienced friend.

In the process of trying to run antifreeze from the fresh water holding tank we turned on the pump and could hear air moving but nothing from the holding tank. Connected a secondary hose directly to the inlet side of the pump and it sucked the antifreeze directly out of a jug of antifreeze and presurized the system.

We then reconnected the hose from the tank and still nothing. Also tried to suck through the hose and only got air. At that point noticed the hose was not attached to anything under the floor and pulled it out and the end that should have been in the tank was totally dry. So hose was not in the tank and how do you fish a hose back into the tank from the pump or should it actually be attached with a fitting as it was not.

I have a 2011 Keystone Cougar 276RLS.

Totally new to this so need all the help I can get and there is probably a simple answer.

Thanks
mw2307 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2019, 02:11 PM   #2
NH_Bulldog

first mistake is dumping antifreeze into the tank. You could add 5-10 gallons before it got deep enough for the pump to suck it up and then after pumping a gallon out it would suck air. Typically you drain the tank, don’t add any antifreeze and then do a direct draw from the antifreeze bottle to the pump through the plumbing system. You typically use 2 gallons or less for the entire system including traps. Anything dumped into the fresh water tank is wasted and dewinterizing is a nightmare.
2022 Ford F250 7.3L Godzilla Crew Cab 4x4
NH_Bulldog is online now   Reply With Quote